Teaching, Learning and the National Curriculum

Teaching and Learning at Bearwood  Primary School has been developed to engage and inspire children in their learning - whether academic, creative, social or sporting. The  School’s teaching and learning philosophy ensures that children are equipped with the skills, knowledge and attitudes that will help them to succeed in life and to be considerate citizens of the world.
Bearwood Primary School is a nurturing, inclusive and happy school which promotes a love of learning in our pupils.   Everything we do is underpinned by our values and our belief in the uniqueness of every child. Through our inclusive approach, our children are taught to respect, value and learn from other cultures and faiths.
We encourage our children to have high expectations of themselves and aspire to be the very best that they can be.
National Curriculum
The National Curriculum is the framework used by all maintained schools to ensure that teaching and learning is balanced and consistent in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. It seeks to build on the learning children experienced in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

The National Curriculum sets out the subjects taught as well as the knowledge, skills and understanding required in each subject. It also provides standards or statements in each subject, used by teachers to help measure your child's progress and plan the next steps in their learning. In accordance with the law, the school curriculum meets all the requirements of the National Curriculum, plus the requirements for Religious Education set out by the local authority.
Core Subjects




Computing - this is taught as a discrete subject and is also used to support teaching and learning across the curriculum.

Religious Education - the requirements for Religious Education are laid down in a locally-agreed syllabus.
Foundation Subjects




Physical Education




Modern Foreign Language - French in KS2