National Curriculum

The National Curriculum is the framework used by all maintained schools to ensure that teaching and learning is balanced and consistent in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. It seeks to build on the learning children experienced in the Early Years Foundation Stage..

The National Curriculum sets out the subjects taught as well as the knowledge, skills and understanding required in each subject. It also provides standards or statements in each subject, used by teachers to help measure your child's progress and plan the next steps in their learning. In accordance with the law, the school curriculum meets all the requirements of the National Curriculum, plus the requirements for Religious Education set out by the local authority.


Parents Guide to the New Curriculum

Core Subjects




Computing - this is taught as a discrete subject and is also used to support teaching and learning across the curriculum.

Religious Education - the requirements for Religious Education are laid down in a locally-agreed syllabus.

Foundation Subjects




Physical Education




Modern foreign language - French in KS2